Hurricane Sandy expands overnight


East Coast view of Hurricane Sandy, GOES Imagery from NOAA. October 27th 2012. Sandy has become so large that typical floater imagery doesn’t capture the entire storm.

As of 11am eastern from the National Hurricane Center:
Maximum sustained winds are near 75mph
Minimum central pressure is near 958mb
Sandy is moving North-Northeast at about 9mph.

Sandy is doing a balancing act north of the Bahamas where it is trying to deepen (lower its central pressure) and expand its wind field at the same time. Fluctuations in its maximum wind speeds have been the result, and Sandy will likely continue to be at borderline hurricane status until Sunday night when it will try to strengthen as it gets energized by its merger with the trough over the interior Eastern United States. Hurricane Sandy’s pressure fell from 969mb at 11pm last night to 958mb at 11am this morning indicating deepening. While its maximum radius of tropical storm force winds expanded from 275miles at 5pm yesterday, to 450miles at 5am this morning.

All Hurricane Warnings have been discontinued for now, but tropical storm conditions are still occurring in the northernmost Bahamas, offshore of Florida and North and South Carolina where tropical storm warnings are in effect. Further advisories, watches, and warnings will be needed as Sandy approaches, potentially from North Carolina to Maine.  East coast states have already declared states of emergency and some evacuation notices have been posted in advance of Sandy’s landfall which is forecast to be somewhere in New Jersey or the Delmarva peninsula.

Official National Hurricane Center track for Hurricane Sandy as of 11am Eastern Time. Tropical Storm Warnings for parts of North and South Carolina and the Bahamas in blue, and Tropical Storm Watches in yellow for parts of South Carolina and Bermuda.

Impacts…Heavy flooding rain over 6″ in areas is likely near the storm’s path. Areas where both storm surge and flooding rains are a threat may have the flooding exacerbated by the unusually high tides down stream. Heavy wet snow is a distinct possibility in the higher elevations of Eastern Kentucky, West Virginia, North Carolina, Virginia, and Pennsylvania. Significant coastal flooding is also likely in areas of onshore winds and in bays, harbors, and estuaries where storm surges are forecast to reach up to 8feet and storm tides may be extreme due to the large changes between low and high tide and the astronomical high tide with the full moon on Monday.

Damaging winds (30-60mph) could extend far inland causing tree damage and potentially some power outages. Structurally damaging winds (50-75mph) could occur along the immediate coast and in gusts inland. Keep in mind that tropical storm force winds (sustained at >39mph) have been observed more than 400miles from the center of this storm – so even though the storm may make landfall in New Jersey, areas as far north as Maine and as far inland as Ontario and Quebec (including Lakes Erie and Ontario) could see tropical storm conditions. Areas to the south will have offshore winds, and tropical storm force winds will extend less far from the center and will be gustier in nature. In these areas, hazardously low water levels may be observed, especially at low tide.

Meanwhile, there could be a period of tropical storm conditions in Bermuda (Tropical Storm Watch) sometime between tonight and Monday night as Sandy continues to expand and passes to the distant west. Squally showers will be the theme here during that period.

Useful links:
National Hurricane Center– Latest official updates and products for the track, intensity, and impacts of hurricanes.
National Weather Service – Latest local weather products for the United States.
Bermuda Weather Service – Latest weather products for Bermuda.
Environment Canada – Latest local weather products for Canada.
Bahamas Meteorology Department – Latest local weather products for the Bahamas.

12 thoughts on “Hurricane Sandy expands overnight

  1. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a friend who had been conducting a little research on this.
    And he in fact bought me dinner because I discovered it for him.
    .. lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!
    ! But yeah, thanks for spending the time to discuss this
    issue here on your site.

  2. After exploring a few of the blog posts on your
    blog, I honestly appreciate your technique of writing a blog.
    I saved it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back soon.
    Please visit my website too and tell me how you feel.

  3. I drop a leave a response whenever I appreciate a article on a blog or if I have
    something to valuable to contribute to the conversation.
    Usually it is triggered by the passion displayed in the post I looked at.
    And after this post Hurricane Sandy expands overnight | bermudaweather.

    I was actually excited enough to post a thought 😉 I actually do have a couple of
    questions for you if you don’t mind. Could it be simply me or does it give the impression like a few of these comments look like they are written by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing on other places, I’d like to keep up with everything
    fresh you have to post. Could you list every one of all your shared sites like your
    twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  4. hello there and thank you for the brill website. I have definitely picked up
    something new from right here. I did however expertise some
    technical points using this site, as I experienced to reload the site lots of times previous to
    I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK?
    Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords.
    Well I’m adding this RSS to my email and could look out for much more of your respective interesting content. Ensure that you update this again very soon.

  5. As far as I’m concerned, there’s no point getting out of bed for less than a grand, so this doesn’t seem to be worth the hassle in my mind.

  6. Hello,i am Mrs Rebecca Nathan from Florida USA,i will really want to thank God so much for making me come in contact with Eriva loan firm after i have been scammed three time by fake lenders,their ways was very easy no credit check,no cosigner,no collateral and with just 3% interest rate, at first i never taught it is through because i have been scammed by fake lender so i find it difficult to believe them.. But with God i find trust in them and i receive my loan from them. The name of the Loan Firm is ERIVAN LOAN COMPANY , so i will advise anyone out there that need a loan to contact them via their Email: erivanloancompany@yahoo.com

  7. Hello i am John Emmanuel a Reputable, Legitimate & an accredited money
    Lender. I loan money out to individuals in need of financial assistance.
    Do you have a bad credit or are you in need of money to pay bills?
    i want to use this medium to inform you that i render reliable beneficiary
    assistance as I’ll be glad to offer you a loan at 2% interest rate to
    reliable individuals.

    Services Rendered include:
    *Refinance
    *Home Improvement
    *Inventor Loans
    *Auto Loans
    *Debt Consolidation
    *Horse Loans
    *Line of Credit
    *Second Mortgage
    *Business Loans
    *Personal Loans
    *International Loans.
    Please write back if interested.
    Upon Response, you’ll be mailed a Loan application form to fill. (No social
    security and no credit check, 100% Guaranteed!) I Look forward permitting me to
    be of service to you. You can contact me via e-mail:Johnemmanuelloanfirm@gmail.com or Johnemmanuelloanfirm@outlook.com
    Yours Sincerely,

  8. My Brothers and Sister of Asia country, I am Miss Koh Lian Fong from Singapore; i was in need of loan some month ago. i needed a loan to open my restaurant and bar, when one of my long time business partner introduce me to the this good and trustful loan lender Mr.ZHANG that help me out with a loan, and is interest rate is very low , thank God today. I am now a successful business woman, and I became useful. In the life of others, I now hold a restaurant and bar. And about 22 workers, thank GOD for my life I am leaving well today a happy mother with three kids, thanks to you Mr.HZANG Now I can take care of my lovely family, i can now pay my bill. I am now the bread winner of my family. If you are look for a trustful and reliable loan leader. You can Email him via,(ZHANGLOANCOMPANY@YAHOO.COM Pls tell him Miss Koh Lian Fong, form Singapore introduce you to him. THANKS

Leave a Reply

